The Courtyard is set in the beautiful Shropshire/Welsh countryside just a mile from the picturesque market town of Oswestry.
We offer exclusive weddings and events personal to your wishes.
Our flexible space can accommodate weddings, private parties, corporate events, concerts, and exhibitions. We are also available for location filming and photo shoots.
A UNIQUE PLACE TO BE...
We offer two outstanding and unique spaces set within the Courtyard complex and we aim to allow the bride and groom as much choice, flexibility and assistance as possible. The magnificent barns have been beautifully restored and retain their period features and rustic charm with their oak beams, lime washed walls and the huge underground waterwheel.
The tithe barn will comfortably seat up to 100 and the ceremony room will also seat 100 and together with the bar area and terrace makes for a very elegant entertaining space. The Courtyard itself will seat in excess of 300 and there is extensive car parking available.
Video by Nick Boy Wedding Video
HOUSE & GARDEN
We are delighted to announce that we have been featured in House and Garden as part of their Christmas issue. The team From H&G were here for a week taking pictures around the barns and it was an amazing experience to have been part of.
TAKE A LOOK...
The history of Llwyn-y-Maen (which translates as 'stone in the grove') runs deep into Welsh myth and legend. Some say it was a Druid site but what we do know is that it belonged to Madog ap Maredudd Prince of Powys who died in 1160 and is buried locally at Meifod. Llwyn-y-Maen was a Welsh power base on the edge of England. The border not being finally settled until 1536 by Henry VIII and becoming part of Shropshire.
Einion Evell succeeded to the estates on his father's death and lived at Llwyn-y-Maen until his death in 1196. Eventually, his granddaughter Annesta became the heiress of Llwyn-y-Maen and Llanforda and married the infamous Meurig Llwyd (or Lloyd ).
Meurig held lands in Denbighshire and finding himself and his tenants much oppressed by the English laws killed a judge and hung several officers on oak trees. His lands were confiscated by the crown and he withdrew to the sanctuary of Halston near Whittington. He placed himself under the protection of The Earl of Arundel and was made a captain over a number of soldiers who gathered in The Marches of Wales. They joined the crusades and at The Siege of Acre (1189 ) he valiantly recaptured the standard of The Emperor of Austria from The Turks. The Emperor rewarded Meurig with a new coat of arms, the imperial eagle with two heads. On his return to Wales, he married Annesta and came to live at Llwyn-y-Maen.
The Lloyds continued to live at Llwyn-y-Maen for hundreds of years. They were ardent Catholics and were named in the Ridolfi plot. Elizabeth I sent a troop of men to search the house for a priest and Catholic material. "A cartload of Catholic paraphernalia" was removed and they were fined £5000 in 1598. It was the beginning of their demise.
Eventually, the Williams-Wynns took over the estate in 1809 rebuilding much of the house and turning the walled garden into a formal courtyard and farm buildings that you see today. In recent years the house has undergone a major restoration and although the house is private there is an opportunity for photographs to be taken outside the house.